女性泌尿科

女性泌尿科是針對女性常見尿道疾病的診斷和治療專科。這些疾病包括尿失禁、盆腔器官脫垂、排尿障礙、復發性尿道感染、尿頻與壓迫性尿急。香港泌尿專科治療中心致力為以上的女性尿路疾病提供全面的診斷、檢查和治療。

尿失禁

尿失禁是指不自主的漏尿。失禁可分為三大類:壓力性尿失禁, 急迫性尿失禁及滿溢性尿失禁 。

壓力性尿失禁

壓力性尿失禁是指每當用力,打噴嚏或咳嗽時有漏尿的情況出現。依估計大約有10%-30%的成年女性患有壓力性尿失禁。它嚴重影響病人工作,家庭,社交,生理,性和心理多個方面的生活。

女性患上壓力性尿失禁主要原因是生育使盆底肌肉變得鬆弛。肌肉鬆弛使膀胱頸及近端尿道失去支持。當腹內壓力增加,支持組織的肌肉鬆弛使膀胱頸及近端尿道向下移,尿道阻力失效而出現尿失禁。另一種較少見的原因是尿道括約肌變弱。對尿道造成創傷的手術,神經受損,放射治療,及年齡增長均會導致尿道括約肌變弱。

尿失禁患者的評估包括詳細詢問病史,身體檢查,排尿日記,尿墊測試,尿分析與細菌培殖,腎功能測試和尿動力學測試。尿失禁的徵狀、嚴重程度及對生活質素的影響都可透過詢問病史予以確定。確認發病因素或失禁成因也同樣重要。
身體檢查應著重查找是否有生理或神經系統異常導致壓力性尿失禁。而陰道檢查就可評估有無盆底失效或盆腔器脫垂。當患者感到膀胱充盈時,醫生會要求患者用力咳嗽以觀察有無失禁。排尿日記可準確紀錄患者每日的液體攝取量及排尿次數。尿墊測試則可以記錄特定時間內的漏尿量。

本港婦女對壓力性尿失禁認識越來越深,亦因此病會嚴重影響生活質素,她們都傾向病向淺中醫。治療方案取決於病情本質和其嚴重程度。通過適當的治療,大多數婦女都可以治癒失禁問題。

急迫性尿失禁
緊迫性尿失禁是指膀胱肌肉不正常收縮引致的漏尿情況,患者同時會有強烈尿意。膀胱肌肉的不正常收縮可能是原發性的(即膀胱過度活躍症),也可能由尿路感染、尿路結石或膀胱腫瘤所引起。

滿溢性尿失禁
滿溢性尿失禁是指有持續漏尿的情況。當膀胱持續滿溢,引致過度膨脹而漏出小量尿液,這便是滿溢性尿失禁。患者通常因為膀胱出口梗阻(如.良性前列腺增生) 或膀胱無收縮,最終使尿液無法排空而患上此病。

復發性尿路感染

一年內有三次或以上的尿路感染便可診斷為復發性尿路感染。尿路感染可能是原發性的 (沒有特別原因),不過基本的泌尿系統問題如結石、腫瘤、反流或膀胱不完全排空亦是起因,在可能範圍內都應排除。一般治療目的在於查找感染因由及處方合適的抗生素。

夜尿症

夜尿症是指夜間經常起床排尿。這是一個普遍的疾病,估計19-39歲的女性有9%和50-59歲的女性有58%患有夜尿症。形成夜尿症的成因包括睡眠障礙,夜間排尿量增加和功能性膀胱容量減少。但是引致夜尿症的成因背後的疾病例如糖尿病、尿崩症、腎衰竭和睡眠窒息症等則應排除在外。去氨加壓素 (Desmopressin) 可有效降低夜間排尿量從而減輕夜尿症的症狀。其副作用有低血鈉症及水份瀦溜,所以使用時要十分小心。

Female Urology

Female urology is urology sub specialty concerned with the diagnosis and treatment of those urinary tract disorders most prevalent in females. These include urinary incontinence , pelvic organs prolapse, voiding dysfunction, recurrent urinary tract infection, frequency and urgency of urine .The Hong Kong Urology Clinic offers a comprehensive evaluation and treatment plan for these female urologic disorders.

Urinary Incontinence
Urinary incontinence is defined as the involuntary loss of urine. There are mainly three types of incontinence: stress incontinence, urge incontinence and overflow incontinence.

Stress Incontinence
Stress urinary incontinence (SUI) is defined as the involuntary loss of urine during effort or exertion or during sneezing or coughing. It has been estimated that 10 to 30% of adult women are affected by SUI. It severely affects every facet of the patients’ life – work, home, social, physical, sexual and psychological.

In female SUI is most often caused by pelvic floor muscle laxity as a result of repeated childbirth. As a result of the laxity there is loss of anatomical support to the bladder neck and the proximal urethra. During increase in intra-abdominal pressure the weakened anatomical support allow the bladder neck and proximal urethra to rotate downward and posteriorly. The resulting shearing force opens up the urethra and thus incontinence occurs. A less common cause of SUI is intrinsic sphincter deficiency in which the urethral sphincter is intrinsically weak, regardless of its anatomical position. ISD can result from previous surgery that damage urethral sphincter, neurological insult, radiation damage and aging.

Evaluation of patients with SUI should consist of structured micturition history, physical examination, micturition diary, pad test, urinalysis and culture, renal function test and urodyanamic study.

History is important in assessing the characteristics and severity of SUI as well as its impact on quality of life. It is also important in identifying risk factors or underlying causes for the incontinence.

Physical examination should focus on detecting anatomical and neurological abnormalities that contributes to the SUI. A vaginal examination should be performed to assess the tone of the pelvic floor muscle and also to check for pelvic organs prolapse. With the bladder comfortably full the patient is asked to cough or strain in an attempt to reproduce the stress urinary incontinence.

Micturition diary is useful in providing information on patient’s drinking and voiding patterns. Pad test provide a semi-objective measurement of urine loss over a given period of time.

Women in Hong Kong are becoming more aware of the condition of SUI and are more willing to seek medical advice for this condition as SUI significantly affect the quality of life. The treatment depends upon the nature and severity of the condition. With appropriate treatment most women could be cured of their incontinence problem.

Urge Incontinence
Urge incontinence is the involuntary loss of urine associated with a strong desire to void. It is caused by the presence of involuntary detrusor contraction.The involuntary detrusor contraction may be idiopathic(overactive bladder) or secondary to infection, urinary tract stones or bladder tumour.

Overflow Incontinence
A history of continuous loss of urine suggests overflow incontinence. It happens when small amount of urine leaks from a bladder that is constantly full. It usually occurs in patients who cannot empty their bladder either as a result of bladder outlet obstruction (eg. benign prostatic hyperplasia) or bladder acontractility.

Recurrent Urinary Tract Infection may be generally defined as three or more infections within one year. This may be idiopathic (no obvious cause) but underlying urological disorder such as stones, tumor, reflux or ineffective bladder emptying should be excluded. Treatment is aimed at identifying the cause and/or proper antibiotic therapy to treat the infection.

Nocturia
Nocturia is defined as having to get up more than once per night to pass urine. It is a common problem and it has been estimated that 9% of women aged between 19 and 39 years old and 58% of female aged 50-59 years old suffer from nocturia.

Aetiology is multifactorial including sleep disturbance, increased in night time urine output, decreased in functional bladder capacity. Underlying disorders like diabetes mellitus, diabetes insipidus, renal insufficiency, sleep apnoea etc have to been excluded. Treatment includes behavioral modification and drug. Desmopressin helps to reduce the nocturnal urine output and thus alleviate the symptoms of nocturia but should be used with caution because of the side effect of hyponatraemia and fluid retention.